About Us

Est. 1912

The University of Queensland Cricket Club was established in 1912 and was a foundation sporting club at the University of Queensland. 

The club joined the Queensland Grade Cricket Competition in the 1912/13 season and continues to participate today.

WEP Harris Oval

The Club’s home ground and training venue is the picturesque WEP Harris Oval located at University of Queensland’s St Lucia campus. Named after the late WEP Harris, the oval is one of the premier grounds in Brisbane.

Club Purpose

Our purpose is to provide cricketers opportunities to play at the highest level whilst developing and supporting young cricketers and providing lasting community value.

Club Success

UQCC is the leading team in the Brisbane Premier Cricket competition, winning 10 out of the last 12 Club Championships.

Some recent notable achievements include the men’s 1st grade team winning three consecutive two-day premierships (2018/19, 2019/20 and 2020/21) while our women’s 2nd grade won the premiership for the first time in the Club’s history during the 2022/21 season.

Player Pathway

UQCC currently enters eight men’s teams, two women’s teams, and a men’s over 40’s team in the Queensland Premier Cricket Competition. The Club also enters men’s and women’s teams in various community competitions.

At a junior level UQCC has developed a great reputation for having one of the best pathways programs in Brisbane. This includes running its own entry level program (U5-U9), as well as entering junior boys and girls (U10-U16) teams into the local Metropolitan South West Competition. This provides a clear pathway for junior players to seamlessly transition into playing senior cricket at the Club.