The Clem Jones Sporting Scholarship

Clem Jones was a right-hand batsmen and generally captained the UQCC 2nd XI side. He was president of the club 1947-48 to 1953-53, and a club delegate to the Queensland Cricket Association Executive Committee from 1949-50 t0 1960-61. He was a Queensland delegate to the Australian Cricket Board from 1961-62 to 1973-74, and was awarded life membership of the Queensland Cricket Association in 1968. Clem was educated at Church of England Grammar School; and University of Queensland, gaining a Bachelor of Science degree, majoring in mathematics and geology. He was Lord Mayor of Brisbane from 1961 to 1975. For his service to the community he was awarded an Order of Australia in 1976. Amongst a long list of lifetime achievements and service, Clem Jones was a stalwart as a player and administrator at UQCC.
Established in 2000 by the late Dr Clem Jones AO and maintained by an annual donation from The Clem Jones Foundation, the scholarships purpose is to “encourage students with academic ability to complete their intended program at The University of Queensland who can demonstrate the potential to perform at a high level in their chosen sport.”

Each year at least one Clem Jones Sporting Scholarship is awarded to a UQ student as nominated by UQCC.

Requirements: The cricket scholarship recipient is required to play for UQCC throughout the duration of their scholarship.

$6,000 for each year for which it is held.
Applicants are required to:
  • be an Australian citizen
  • have at least 3 years (full time equivalent) of their undergraduate program to complete once awarded the scholarship
  • be enrolled on a full-time basis (except in exceptional circumstances).
Selection of award:
The scholarship is awarded to applicants who show the greatest merit as demonstrated by:
  • evidence of financial need
  • sporting achievements to date
  • potential to continue to perform in their chosen sport at a high level
  • any other information that the selection committee considers relevant.
Conditions for scholarship:
The scholarship is tenable for up to 3 years subject to the recipient:
  • maintaining satisfactory academic progress
  • ongoing financial need
  • continuing to perform in their sport at a sufficiently high level.

Previous Recipients:

  • Former Australian Southern Stars player Holly Ferling
  • Former Queensland Bulls player Scott Walter
  • Former Queensland Fire player Selena Tainton
  • Former Scotland international player Hamish Gardiner
Scholarship application dates and further information:
For further information and application details please visit The Clem Jones Sporting Scholarships. UQ Sport Scholarships Office also administers other sporting scholarships at UQ which may also be of interest to prospective and current UQCC players.